Official name: People's Democratic Republic of Algeria

Capital: Algiers

Official languages: Arabic

Monetary unit: Algerian Dinar (DZD)

Population (million): 38.8

Total area (sq km): 2,381,741


Located in the North of the African Continent bordering the Mediterranean Sea, between Morocco and Tunisia, Algeria is an upper-middle income country that had enjoyed robust economic growth, with being more than doubled since early 2000.

Algeria preserved stability through a combination of political reforms, public sector expenditurs and fighting corruption. However, long term challenges facing the economy are on top of the Algeria government’s agenda. Those challenges include reducing subsidies, improving the business environment, diversifying the economy, creating private sector jobs, and empowering youth and women. The Algerian government is seeking to further develop its hydrocarbon resources and has also explicitly embraced private sector development by launching major transport and housing projects.

Year joined ICD:

Number of projects approved: 3

Gross Approval ($US million): 33.00

Gross Disbursement ($US million): 0