Official name: Kyrgyz Republic

Capital: Bishkek

Official languages:  Kyrgyz; Russian

Monetary unit: Kyrgyzstan som (KGS)

Population (million - 2013): 5.7

Total area (sq km):  198, 500


Landlocked country located in a Central Asian between the Pamir-Alai Mountains in the South-west and the Tien Shan Mountains in the North-east, Kyrgyzstan is bordered by China, Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan and Tajikistan. With per capita GNI of $1200 in 2013, the Kyrgyzstan is a middle-income country. A series of reform-oriented governments since the political crises of 2010 have helped to restore economic and social stability, and to address shortcomings in public governance and the investment climate.

Going forward, a number of issues remain obstacles to development and inclusive growth in Kyrgyzstan. The country’s economy is largely informal, plus a large number of emigrants leaving for Russia to look for job opportunities. Strengthening economic governance, achieving and sustaining positive trade balance, and improving education, healthcare, and social protection are other top priorities for Kyrgyzstan government in the coming years. 


Year joined ICD:

Number of projects approved: 6

Gross Approval ($US million): 29.90

Gross Disbursement ($US million): 9.98