MALI MALI | Overview

Official name: Mali

Capital: Bamako

Official languages: French

Monetary unit: West African CFA Franc

Population (million): 15.3

Total area (sq km): 1,240,000


A landlocked country situated in the northwestern of Mainland Africa, Mali is sharing borders with Mauritania, Senegal, Guinea, Côte d’Ivoire, Burkina Faso, Niger and Algeria. After the food shortages and political and security crises in 2012, Mali’s economic growth has started to pick up with a more positive numbers which should close down the poverty gap in the country.

Mali is still very much dependent on commodities and volatility of their price. The country is diversifying and is expected to continue in the future boosted by agriculture, gold-mining, and a tertiary sector recovery.


Year joined ICD:

Number of projects approved: 0

Gross Approval ($US million): 0

Gross Disbursement ($US million): 0