NIGER NIGER | Overview

Official name: Republic of Niger

Capital: Niamey

Official languages: French

Monetary unit: West African CFA Franc

Population (million): 17.8

Total area (sq km): 1,267,000


A landlocked Niger resides in the northwestern of Mainland Africa. It is bordered by Algeria and Libya in the North, Chad in the East, Nigeria and Benin in the South, Burkina Faso in the South-west, and Mali in the West. In the past years, Niger economy has shown an upward trend compared to its performance in 2009.

However, the reversal of the economic growth needs to be pro-poor and inclusive. Niger economic development is highly reliant on climatic conditions, large-scale investment projects in extractive industries, and security conditions.

Year joined ICD:

Number of projects approved: 0

Gross Approval ($US million): 0

Gross Disbursement ($US million): 2.48*